Château Romanin

The wines

Originally, Château Romanin’s vineyards produced mainly red wines. Since the arrival of Anne-Marie and Jean-Louis Charmolüe, the split between red, white and rosé has been rebalanced with a particular focus on the red and white “Grands Vins”.

In order to produce the finest quality wines, some vines were grubbed up while others were planted and carefully tended. Today the Domaine produces 45% red wines, 40% rosés and 15% whites. It has opted to use the noblest and expressive red varietals – Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, Mourvèdre, Grenache and Counoise. The Rolle (Vermentino) and Roussanne white grape varieties were already growing on the domaine, so Grenache Blanc and Clairette were also planted which allowed Château Romanin to obtain the Les Baux-de-Provence AOP for its white wine.

The red, white or rosé wines are all excellent, all are ambassadors for some
of the finest wines of Provence.

Château Romanin

Le Cœur was first produced back in 1998. In great vintages, it is aged in new barrels. Derived from the best terroir, deep soils with good porosity (and very stony in the Alpilles foothills), and the careful blending together of the finest grapes, this concentrate of quality, taste and savoir-faire has grown in quality over the years to become what it is today – a well-structured, deep and noble wine. Le Cœur is an outstanding red wine.

This wine bears the signature of Jean-Louis Charmolüe who used to put the finishing touch to the blends.

Château Romanin

A veritable monument of architecture, this underground cellar was built to ensure perfect harmony and coherence between biodynamic vineyard cultivation and cellar work.

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence

Not far from Le Cœur, the grapes for our Grand Vin Rouge (red fine wine) grow in an ideal terroir on the foothills of the Alpilles. The vines are planted in soils that are mixtures of clay, silt and sand, and either contain a little or a lot of stones. The grape varieties – Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cabernet Sauvignon and Grenache – confer character and finesse to this wine aged for at least 18 months in foudres (large oak vats) and barrels in the heart of the “cathedral winery”. This high-quality wine is in total resonance with the Provençal landscape.

In an ideal terroir on the foothills of the Alpilles.

Château Romanin
Grand Vin Blanc & Grand Vin Rosé

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence

The vines for these wines grow in very stony soil, made up of clay, silt and limestone, found at the foot of the Alpilles mountain foothills from where one can spy the ruins of the château to the south. This terroir is propitious to the production of a Grand Vin. The grapes for the Grand Vin Rosé (Syrah, Grenache, Mourvèdre, Cabernet Sauvignon and Counoise) and the Grand Vin Blanc (Rolle, Roussanne, Grenache blanc and Clairette) express concentration and finesse. The wines undergo 6 months ageing, the rosés on their fine lees and the whites on their fine and gross lees with occasional bâtonnage (stirring up of the lees) in the winery’s stainless-steel vats.

This terroir is propitious to the production of a Grand Vin.
Chateau-Romanin-Famille RB
Logo-Titre-La-Chapelle

Château Romanin
La Chapelle

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence - Red

This wine, from the estate’s young vines, is aged in stainless-steel vats and is therefore totally unoaked. It is succulent and warm with lovely garrigue scrubland aromas hinting at the Alpilles mountains that surround and nourish the vineyards. Since it was first produced in 1995, its quality and appeal have continued to grow. The mounting success of this wine, vintage after vintage, can be put down to the meticulous selection work carried out by Château Romanin. La Chapelle is an elegant and feisty wine, bringing you a taste of the terroir of the Alpilles!

La Chapelle is an elegant and feisty wine, bringing you a taste of the terroir of the Alpilles!

Romanin

IGP Alpilles - red - rose - white

In 2016, the “Mas de Romanin” wine became “Romanin” and was given a more contemporary label. This is a joyous, succulent and festive wine, bursting with the flavours and scents of Provence. Its lovely floral notes will be appreciated from the aperitif through to the dessert and its convivial character makes it perfect for enjoying around the table with family and friends.

Its freshness and joyful personality are an absolute delight on the palate. The perfect wine

A.O.P. de la Vallée des Baux-de-Provence

Olive Oils

Our estate also includes four hectares of olive trees, exalted by the vineyards and the natural environment. These olive groves are located on the northern slope of the Alpilles mountains, where they are planted in filtering soils and enjoy a dry climate and good exposure to sunlight. Grown biodynamically like the wines, our local varieties of olives – Aglandau (still called Béruguette), Grossane, Salonenque, Verdale and Picholine – develop different characters and intensities.

Benefitting from the “Protected Designation of Origin”, the AOP (PDO) Vallée des Baux-de-Provence (a guarantee of optimal quality and traceability at European level), Château Romanin’s olive oil is renowned for its distinctive character.

At the end of October, the olives are picked using the raking technique, transported to the mill and pressed in under 24 hours to preserve the freshness of the fruit. De-leafed, washed and crushed, the olives have turned into a paste, which is slowly stirred and then cold pressed.

AOP Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Extra Virgin olive oil

Our sweet, soft and fresh AOP Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Extra Virgin olive oil, with its vegetal and slightly spicy notes, will add a little something to your cuisine. The blend of the estate’s olive varieties creates a lovely intensity on the palate. This olive oil, with its lovely balance between delicate bitterness and a subtly peppery fieriness, is a top-quality culinary product. Delicate, complex and harmonious, it is perfect for drizzling over food. It is great with hot dishes as well as raw vegetables and cheese.

AOP Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Virgin olive oil

Our AOP Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Virgin olive oil comes from a blend of the olives varieties previously mentioned. The harvested olives are transported to the mill and stored in crates, protected from oxygen, for a few days. They then ferment alongside each other and turn black. Our craft production consists of conducting a light fermentation, using all our skills and experience, to recreate the candied black olive flavour typical of the grindstone mills of yesteryear. This oil is perfect with green vegetables, grilled white meats and fish carpaccio. Intense and sweet, it will delight all lovers of matured olives.

Chateau-Romanin-Marc-de-Provence

Eau de vie de Provence
Marc de Provence

Appellation Eau-de-Vie de Marc de Provence Réglementée

Once upon a time, we came across some mysterious barrels lying hidden away in our “cathedral winery”. To our surprise, they contained a liquid which is now prized: grape marc, eau de vie or Marc de Provence from Château Romanin. Benefitting from an appellation which has been classified since 1942, Château Romanin’s “Eau-de-vie du Marc de Provence” presents an exquisite golden hue with bright amber tints.
It plunges you into an array of complex, fruity and sweet aromas which invite you on a voyage back in time, evoking all kinds of images. This chance coming together of flavours is preserved through a «solera» type production method wherein the marc is constantly rejuvenated by new eau de vie. Even if the “Marc de Château Romanin” was not something we were originally planning to produce, these days we wouldn’t be without it!

An exquisite golden hue with bright amber tints

SInce 2001

Medals & Rewards

Gorgeous deep red ruby ​​hue with some light brick-red tints. Wild, smoky nose with hints of game and undergrowth. The palate is sanguine, roasted with peppery notes. The flesh is juicy and the tannins are melted. This is a mature wine with notes of roasted fig and truffle. Elegant finish with southern accents.

The Salon International Millésime Bio’s organic wine competition. 253 medals awarded. Among the gold medal-winning wines, four, including the 2007 Chateau Romanin Red, received special mentions.

Château Romanin

Les Vins

À sa création, le vignoble de Château Romanin produisait essentiellement des vins rouges. Depuis l’arrivée d’Anne-Marie et de Jean-Louis Charmolüe, le pourcentage entre les trois couleurs s’est rééquilibré en gardant une attention particulière pour ses Grands Vins Rouges et Grands Vins Blancs.

Dans un souci de produire et d’offrir le meilleur des vins, certaines vignes ont été arrachées, d’autres ont vu le jour, suivies et soignées avec attention. Le domaine offre aujourd’hui 45 % de vins rouges, 40 % de rosés et 15 % de blancs. Les cépages rouges les plus nobles et expressifs, la Syrah, le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Mourvèdre, le Grenache et la Counoise, sont privilégiés. Des cépages blancs, le Rolle (Vermentino) et la Roussanne étaient déjà présents sur le domaine ; le Grenache blanc et la Clairette ont été plantés et ont permis à Château Romanin d’acquérir l’AOP Les Baux-de-Provence pour le vin blanc.

Rouge, blanc ou rosé, trois couleurs d’excellence, ambassadrices d’un des plus grands vins de Provence.

Château Romanin

Dans les grands millésimes, Le Cœur dont le premier millésime remonte à 1998, est élevé en barrique neuve, dont le bois provient des forêts de l’Allier (France). Issu des plus beaux terroirs  très caillouteux en contrefort des Alpilles, de sols profonds avec une belle porosité, et de l’assemblage des plus beaux raisins, ce concentré de qualité de goût et de savoir-faire, a vu sa qualité se déployer au fil des années; un vin construit, noble et profond. Un cœur rouge d’exception!

Sa signature finalisait les assemblages, le style propre à cette cuvée.

Château Romanin

Véritable monument d’architecture, cette cave enterrée a été construite pour assurer une parfaite harmonie et une cohérence entre la culture des vignes en biodynamie et le travail en cave.

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence

Un sol limono-argileux et sablo-limono argileux, peu à très caillouteux, en contrefort des Alpilles, offre un terroir idéal à ce Grand Vin qui se hisse non loin du Coeur.
Les cépages – Syrah, Mourvèdre, Cabernet Sauvignon et Grenache – confèrent caractère et finesse à ce vin élevé au minimum pendant 18 mois en foudres et barriques, au coeur du chai-cathédrale. Ce vin de grande qualité est en totale résonance avec le coeur de la terre de Provence.

Ce Grand Vin se hisse non loin du Cœur.

Château Romanin
Grand Vin Blanc & Grand Vin Rosé

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence

Son vignoble très caillouteux, composé d’argile, de limon et de calcaire, s’étend au pied des contreforts du massif des Alpilles d’où l’on distingue, au sud, les ruines du château. Un terroir propice pour un Grand Vin.
Les cépages pour le Grand Vin Rosé – Syrah, Grenache, Mourvèdre, Cabernet Sauvignon et Counoise – ; pour le Grand Vin Blanc – Rolle, Roussanne, Grenache blanc et Clairette -, expriment concentration, complexité et finesse. Leurs vins grandissent en cuves inox au coeur de la cathédrale souterraine, sur lies fines (rosés) ou sur la totalité des lies (blancs) pendant six mois avec opération de batonnage.

Un terroir propice pour un Grand Vin.
Chateau-Romanin-Famille RB
Logo-Titre-La-Chapelle

Château Romanin
La Chapelle

AOP Les Baux-de-Provence - Rouge

Elevé en cuve inox, issu des jeunes vignes du vignoble, ce second vin ne connaît jamais le bois, se montre gourmand, chaleureux, tout en arômes de garrigue grâce aux Alpilles qui l’entourent et le nourrissent. Depuis son origine en 1995, sa qualité et son attrait se montrent grandissants. L’exigence de la sélection au sein de Château Romanin, explique son succès millésime après millésime. Un vin élégant et fougueux, qui ouvre les papilles au terroir des Alpilles !

Un vin élégant et fougueux, qui ouvre les papilles au terroir des Alpilles !

Romanin

IGP Alpilles - rouge - rosé - blanc

En 2016, le vin Mas de Romanin devient Romanin et arbore une étiquette plus moderne. Cette cuvée se veut joyeuse, gourmande et festive, aux saveurs de Provence. Grâce à ses notes fleuries, ses facilités d’adaptation de l’apéritif au dessert, Romanin invite à la convivialité et au partage autour de la table. Son caractère enjoué et sa fraîcheur plonge votre palais dans un doux ravissement. Une cuvée idéale !

Romanin invite à la convivialité et au partage autour de la table.

A.O.P. de la Vallée des Baux-de-Provence

Huiles d’Olive

Quatre hectares d’oliviers se déroulent au cœur du domaine, exaltés par les vignes et l’environnement naturel. Situées sur le versant nord des Alpilles, les oliveraies profitent à la fois de sols filtrants, d’un climat sec et d’une exposition au soleil favorable. Cultivées comme les vins, en biodynamie, les variétés locales, Aglandau (encore nommée Béruguette), Grossane, Salonenque, Verdale et Picholine, présentent des typicités variables en intensité.

Grâce à l’appellation d’origine protégée, AOP de la Vallée des Baux-de-Provence, (gage de traçabilité au niveau européen et de qualité optimale), l’huile d’olive de Château Romanin, est réputée pour ses caractéristiques spécifiques.

Fin octobre, les olives sont cueillies au peigne, acheminées au moulin et pressées sous 24 heures pour préserver la fraîcheur du fruit. Effeuillées, lavées, broyées, les olives sous forme de pâte, sont alors malaxées puis pressées à froid.

Huile d'olive AOP Extra vierge

L’huile d’olive AOP de la Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Extra vierge à la fois douce, tendre et fraîche sait égayer la cuisine grâce à ses notes végétales et légèrement épicées. En bouche, l’assemblage des variétés du domaine, révèle une belle intensité. Grâce à son équilibre indéniable entre amertume subtile et ardence subtilement poivrée, cette huile d’olive est un véritable produit gastronomique. Délicate, complexe et harmonieuse, il convient de l’utiliser en filet. Elle se dévoile aussi bien sur des plats chauds que sur des crudités et du fromage.

Huile d'olive AOP Vierge

L’huile d’olive AOP de la Vallée des Baux-de-Provence Vierge, est issue du mélange d’olives précitées, acheminées au moulin et stockées en caissettes à l’abri de l’oxygène pendant quelques jours. Les olives fermentent les unes entre les autres. Tout l’art consiste à associer légère fermentation et savoir-faire, afin d’offrir le goût de l’olive noire confite des moulins à meules de nos ancêtres. Elle sera parfaite sur des légumes verts, sur des viandes blanches grillées et sur des carpaccios de poisson. Intense et douce à la fois, c’est un ravissement pour tous les amateurs d’olives maturées.

Chateau-Romanin-Marc-de-Provence

Eau de vie de Provence
Marc de Provence

Appellation Eau-de-Vie de Marc de Provence Réglementée

Il était une fois un heureux hasard et la découverte de quelques barriques mystérieuses dans le chai-cathédrale. Loin d’être vides, elles abritaient un liquide devenu précieux : marc de raisin, eau-de-vie ou Marc de Provence de Château Romanin. Bénéficiaire d’une appellation réglementée depuis 1942, l’Eau-de-Vie du Marc de Provence de Château Romanin présente une exquise robe dorée, aux reflets brillants et ambrés.
Une plongée dans une palette d’arômes complexes, fruités et sucrés, qui invitent au voyage dans le temps. Un imaginaire renforcé, un hasard de saveurs qui s’entretiennent grâce à une méthode de vinification de type « solera » ou rajeunissement constant du Marc avec l’eau-de-vie nouvelle. Si le Marc de Château Romanin n’était pas une volonté, il est pourtant devenu… une nécessité !

Une exquise robe dorée, aux reflets brillants et ambrés.

SInce 2001

Médailles & Récompenses

Belle robe rouge rubis soutenu aux légers reflets tuilés. Nez sauvage et fumé avec des pointes giboyeuses et de sous-bois. La bouche est sanguine, rôtie avec des notes poivrées. La chair est juteuse et les tanins sont fondus. C’est un vin à maturité avec des notes de figue rôtie, de truffe. Finale racée aux accents sudistes.

Concours des vins issus de l’agriculture biologique organisé dans le cadre du Salon International Millésime Bio. 253 médailles décernées. Parmi les échantillons médaillés d’or, quatre mentions spéciales ont été décernées dont le Chateau Romanin Rouge 2007.