Château Romanin

Introduction

One day in May 2006, Anne-Marie and Jean-Louis Charmolüe, regular visitors to Provence since 1955, came across the remarkable site of Château Romanin and it was love at first sight. Jean-Louis Charmolüe, descendant of a family who has took Château Montrose (Second Grand Cru Classé Saint-Estèphe) in Bordeaux to new heights of excellence, instantly felt a strong connection to Domaine de Château Romanin and its remarkable past. This interesting turn of events led to the joining of their respective destinies.

Two places and two stories now bound together.

The start of 2018 remains marked by the passing of Jean-Louis Charmolüe, a great and visionary winemaker, who used to say, «there is always a story behind great estates.» And this is true because, from Greek to Roman times, from the Middle Ages to the present day, events, characters and poetry have featured throughout the history of Chateau Romanin, a unique place where you can still find the ruins of a Knights Templar château standing at the foot of the Alpilles mountains.

Anne-Marie and Jean-Louis Charmolüe acquired Château Romanin in 2006. Possessed with an energy as strong as that which runs through the site that clearly had potential, they set themselves a twofold challenge: to write a new chapter in the history of the Domaine and produce outstanding wines. The couple embarked down a path that would lead to the introduction of the high standards and precision work typically employed at the great wine estates, magnified by shared emotions and the hedonism of the location. The deep, full-bodied wines and the olive oils with perfumes of Provence are now finding their perfect balance.

Today, Anne-Marie Charmolüe, the owner and manager of Château Romanin, continues the quest for excellence. Driven by her sense of duty and own resolve, she is intent on writing a new story in Provence.

Château Romanin

A place steeped in history

350 BC

In Greek times, Romanin was a place of worship dedicated to the goddess Artemis and, in the time of the Gauls, druids used to gather at Romanin to worship the ancient mother goddess, Anna, who later became St. Anne. The Romanin vineyards were already producing a famous wine at the time, which was exported as «wine of Theopolis.”

A Roman descendant of King Magus Balthazar

Legend has it that the Roman patrician and last prefect of the Gauls, Claudius Pastumus Dardanus, acquired the Romanin estate through marriage. He worked the estate’s vineyards and shipped its wines to the great Roman cities of the time. It was he who built the first Romanin fort, to protect his estate.

13th century, the building of Château Romanin
In 1203, the Lord of Romanin, Raymond de Gantelme, entered the order of the Knights Templar and travelled to the Holy Land, returning with three chests and the veil of St. Anne (mother of the Virgin Mary), conserved in the Cathedral of Apt.
Placed on a map, the 16-point star of the Moustiers, dear to Frédéric Mistral (1830-1914, French writer and lexicographer of the Occitan language), points to a number of different locations, including that of Château Romanin and the Temple of Solomon in Jerusalem.
When he returned from the Crusades, Raymond de Gantelme began the construction of Château Romanin on the ruins of the fort. The work was carried out by the “Oeuvre du Pont”, a brotherhood of builders associated with the Knights Templar. The construction of the château took into consideration the summer and winter solstices, the positions of the Ursa Major and Ursa Minor constellations, the planets of Mars, Venus and Jupiter, the path of the sun and the full moon.

19th century, the Château in ruins
The owners of Romanin in the 19th century built a sugar factory not far from the Château, using stones from the Château. It burnt to the ground in a fire in 1851.

It is one of the very first « architect’s cellars », so trendy nowadays.

Château Romanin

A unique terroir - the benign Mistral wind

Inspiring and astounding. Few places are able to capture the eye and exert such a strong attraction as Romanin. Situated between Saint-Rémy-de-Provence and Eygalières, a white winding road invites you to make the slow 2 km drive up to the Château Romain estate. Here you are enveloped and captivated by nature, in the rough and majestic.

On the northern slope of the Alpilles, there lies a circle of craggy rocks, which is home to our 250-hectare estate (among which 58 hectares of vineyards, 4 hectares of olive trees and 2.5 hectares of almond trees), all of which are cultivated with the same loving care. The vines, protected by the garrigue scrubland and the olive and almond groves, cling to the ruins of a 13th century Knights Templar château with a rich historical past.

The geological configuration of the estate, combined with exceptional updrafts, give the red, white and rosé wines a distinctive character and remarkable depth. The stones store the heat during the day and return it to the vines at night. The Mistral Wind helps to cool the vines. These phenomena allow the grapes to ripen gently, which is ideal for achieving a better balance between alcoholic degree and acidity.

Here again, the elements come together in respect and harmony. Here there are unique phenomena at work that accompany the wines and olive oils, the fruit of the earth, the sun and the moon, magnified by the work of men.

Château Romanin

The vineyards
& Biodynamic growing

Biodynamics is the art of using the gifts and vital forces of nature to create outstanding products. Biodynamics is a word which describes the links between the cycles of nature, the vines, the climate, and the work of men, along with demanding agronomic techniques. It is a term which attests to a sustainable mode of viticulture which strives to create balance in the plants and bring out the finest expression of a terroir.

Nestled in the heart of a unique natural formation, Château Romanin has been using biodynamics since 1988, the date of its creation by Jean-Pierre Peyraud (investor) and Jean-André Charial (owner of the Relais & Château, Domaine de Baumanière).

With organic growing as a prerequisite, biodynamics seeks to rehabilitate and reinvigorate the exchange between the plant and its environment. Château Romanin’s goal is to obtain finer quality grape berries in order to create outstanding wines. By increasing organic life and enhancing its environment allows us to craft products that do honour to the terroirs. As you might expect, chemical weed killers are banned when working biodynamically. In order to heal, nourish and preserve the plants, growers use plant and mineral-based preparationsprays, Bordeaux mixture, sulphur, horsetail or valerian concoctions and life-giving water.

Depending on its location and the nature of its soil (porous, claylimestone and stony), each vine asserts its particular character and strengths, interacting with the elements and the stars, worked with great care and constant attention by the men of Château Romanin. Before loving wine, you have to love the grape. You have to learn how to observe it and taste it, to allow you to identify when a plot is reaching the perfect degree of maturity and to determine the best time to start harvesting. We respect the passing of the seasons and a set of stringent specifications in order to produce the finest of grapes which, in turn, create broad, ethereal wines, well-blended and possessing great freshness and perfect balance.

Demeter® & Biodyvin® Certifications

Château Romanin’s wines are certified Demeter for the red and Biodyvin for the red, white and rosé. These accredited organizations guarantee that Château Romanin respects the very strict specifications demanded by biodynamic growing.

Château Romanin

The savoir-faire to create excellence - Demanding viticulture and winemaking

The Charmolüe era combines traditional knowhow with high-performance equipment to enable first class viticulture and winemaking. . In an effort to work sustainably and to enable us to carry out precise and innovative vinification work, Anne-Marie and Jean-Louis Charmolüe invested in two vat rooms and a harvest reception facility. The latter is home to two pneumatic presses making us more proactive and responsive and thereby enabling us to wait for the perfect date of maturity. A cold room has also been built to preserve the quality and aromatic precursors of the grapes for the white and rosé wines.

In 2015, we replaced the vats for the white and rosé wines; in 2016 it was the turn of those used for the red wines.

With this new equipment, the vineyard and winery technical team has obtained greater autonomy, effectiveness and adaptability to the Domaine’s microclimates.

Human skills and knowledge and harvesting by hand are combined with new techniques to prevent thermal shocks and preserve the integrity of the grapes and juices. The transformation and ageing of the wines are facilitated by our high-performance facilities, allowing each vintage to express itself to the full and obtaining greater precision while respecting the grapes. This is performance in the name of excellence.

Château Romanin

The work of men - Tending the vines

Where would the wines be without the work carried out by men and women in the vineyards?
Whatever its location, a vineyard always reflects a history, a place, a natural environment and, of course, the investment of man. Like an original encounter, the Earth responds to the knowhow of man who is able to listen to it; man who is able to work the vine according to its minerality, exposure and individual traits. The grapes thus obtained then undergo the processes required for their transformation until they ultimately become the prized liquid in the bottle.

At Château Romanin, in addition to vineyard manager/cellar master, Théo Buravand, the team includes 6 viticulturalist, this team is dedicated to managing the vineyards, aided by additional staff brought in for the major tasks. Because, before producing its grapes, the vine goes through various stages of growth, each essential to the quality of the future harvest. The tying of the shoots, pruning, disbudding, green harvesting and the tillage of the soil are therefore always carried out with constant care and attention.

– Pruning
This warrants our special attention. In order to manage the vine’s growth, judicious pruning must be carried out with each vine receiving individual attention to ensure that it feeds properly and that its sap does not get diverted.

– Treatments
Treatments are carried out in accordance with the seasons and
biodynamic principles.
We are hard at work in the vineyards, constantly tending to the vine, from March to November. After the winter pruning, the vineyards are treated. When the moon is waning, it is time for us to spray the cow-horn manure, to protect the foot of the vines, covered up with soil at the start of the winter (butting), before carrying out the work required to get the vine ready for the coming vegetative cycle leading up to the future harvest. Pruning is carried out by hand with the cut wood ground up and scattered over the earth.

– In the spring, disbudding enables us to balance the load of grapes on each vine; the relevage (tying up of the shoots) domesticates the vine that grows like a creeper, sliding the shoots between the double wires; de-leafing helps to ensure that the future clusters of grapes will be in good health.

– In the summer, green harvesting is carried out if necessary. This reduces the number of clusters on each vine and helps the grapes to ripen and develop greater concentration. This, combined with a control of the photosynthesis, calls on traditional knowhow and the use of age-old growing techniques.

– End August/start September, the harvest is carried out by hand and the grapes placed into small crates to protect the clusters of each grape variety, managed according to the wine it is intended for. Every day, the technical team tastes the grapes from each plot and carries out analyses to determine the best date for the harvest.

In the vineyards, there are men and women. At the head of the estate, a woman, who continues the work of a man, who was a visionary and wine connoisseur, constantly striving for excellence.

Château Romanin

Introduction

Un jour de mai 2006, Anne-Marie et Jean-Louis Charmolüe, visiteurs réguliers de la Provence depuis 1955, découvrent le site remarquable de Château Romanin : c’est le coup de foudre. Une rencontre forte se vit entre Jean-Louis Charmolüe, descendant d’une famille qui a su guider la propriété de Château Montrose vers l’excellence (Second Grand Cru Classé Saint-Estèphe, Bordeaux) et le domaine de Château Romanin au passé historique marquant ; clin d’oeil de l’Histoire pour un trait d’union de leurs destinées respectives.

Deux lieux, deux histoires qui se ressemblent et s’assemblent.

Le début de l’année 2018 reste marqué par le décès du visionnaire et grand vigneron que fut Jean-Louis Charmolüe ; un homme qui avait coutume de déclarer : « Les grands domaines ont toujours une histoire. » C’est un fait, car depuis l’époque grecque à l’époque romaine, du Moyen Âge à l’ère contemporaine, les événements, les personnages et la poésie ont parcouru Château Romanin, lieu unique dont les ruines du Château des Templiers se dressent encore au pied des Alpilles.

En 2006, lorsqu’ils acquièrent Château Romanin, habités par une énergie aussi forte que celle qui parcourt le site au potentiel certain, Anne-Marie et Jean-Louis Charmolüe aspirent à relever un double défi : écrire un nouveau pan de l’histoire du domaine et produire des vins d’exception. Le couple s’engage alors sur un chemin mêlant la précision et l’exigence propres à celles des grands domaines, transcendé par l’hédonisme des lieux et le partage d’émotions. Le parfait équilibre se profile ; pour ces vins profonds, généreux et des huiles d’olive aux parfums de Provence.

Désormais Anne-Marie Charmolüe, propriétaire et gérante de Château Romanin, poursuit son engagement sur la voie de l’excellence. Portée par son devoir et son envie, elle s’engage ainsi à écrire une nouvelle histoire en Provence.

Château Romanin

Lieu chargé d’Histoire

350 av J.-C.

Du temps des Grecs, Romanin était un lieu de culte dédié à la déesse Artémis et à l’époque des Gaulois, Romanin était un lieu druidique où l’on célébrait le culte de l’antique déesse mère Ana, devenue sainte Anne. En ces temps-là, les vignobles de Romanin offraient déjà un vin fameux, qui s’exportait sous le nom de « vin de Théopolis. »

Un Romain descendant du Roi mage Balthazar

La légende raconte que le patricien romain, Claudius Pastumus Dardanus, avait reçu le domaine de Romanin par mariage. En tant que dernier préfet des Gaules, il exploita les vignes du domaine dont il distribua le vin dans toutes les grandes cités romaines.
Pour protéger son domaine, il construisit le premier fortin de Romanin.

XIIIe siècle, construction de Château Romanin
En 1203, le Seigneur de Romanin, Raymond de Gantelme, entre dans l’ordre du Temple et partira jusqu’en Terre Sainte d’où il ramènera trois coffres et le voile de Sainte-Anne (mère de la Vierge Marie), conservé à la Cathédrale d’Apt.
Sur une carte, l’étoile de Moustiers à seize branches, chère aux yeux de Frédéric Mistral (écrivain français d’expression occitane 1830-1914), indique diverses directions dont le Château Romanin et le temple de Salomon à Jérusalem.
Rentré de Croisade, Raymond de Gantelme entreprend la construction de Château Romanin en s’appuyant sur les ruines du fortin avec l’oeuvre du Pont, une confrérie de bâtisseurs associée à l’Ordre du Temple.
La construction du château tient compte du passage des solstices d’été et d’hiver, de la Grande Ourse, de la Petite Ourse, des planètes Mars, Vénus, Jupiter, du passage du Soleil et de la pleine Lune.

XIXe siècle – Le Château en ruine
Les propriétaires de l’époque font construire une fabrique de sucre à peu de distance du Château, avec les pierres de celui-ci. En 1851, un violent incendie dévore l’ensemble.

C’est l’un des tout premiers « chais d’architecte » tellement à la mode aujourd’hui.

Château Romanin

Terroir unique - Mistral bénéfique

Inspirant et stupéfiant. Rares sont les lieux capables de capter le regard et d’absorber l’être avec une telle intensité. Entre Saint Rémy-de-Provence et Eygalières, deux kilomètres d’un chemin blanc et sinueux vous invitent à prendre le temps pour rejoindre le domaine de Château Romanin. La nature, brute et majestueuse, vous enveloppe et captive.

Le versant nord des Alpilles impressionne avec son cirque rocheux qui abrite 250 hectares (58 hectares de vignobles, 4 hectares d’oliviers et 2,5 hectares d’amandiers), soignés avec la même attention. C’est ici que la vigne, protégée par la garrigue, les oliviers et les amandiers, s’agrippe aux ruines d’un château de l’ordre des Templiers datant du XIIIe siècle et au riche parcours historique.

La configuration géologique du domaine, combinée à des courants ascensionnels exceptionnels, apportent aux vins rouges, blancs et rosés leur profondeur et spécificités remarquables. Les pierres emmagasinent la chaleur le jour, la restituent la nuit et le mistral contribue à rafraîchir les vignes. Ces phénomènes permettent aux vins d’atteindre des maturités douces, idéales pour un meilleur équilibre entre degré alcoolique et acidité.

Ici encore, les éléments s’unissent dans le respect et l’harmonie. Ils opèrent des phénomènes uniques qui accompagnent parfaitement les vins et les huiles d’olive, fruits de la Terre, du Soleil et de la Lune, et portés par le travail des hommes.

Château Romanin

Vignoble
& Culture en biodynamie

Biodynamie ou l’art d’utiliser les dons et forces vitales de la nature pour en créer des produits d’exception. Un mot pour traduire une histoire de liens entre le cycle de la Nature, des vignes, le climat, le travail des hommes associé aux techniques exigeantes en matière d’agronomie. Un terme pour attester d’un mode de viticulture durable, dans un souci d’équilibre de la plante et au nom de l’expression d’un terroir.

Niché au coeur d’une configuration naturelle unique, Château Romanin utilise les techniques de la biodynamie depuis 1988, date de sa création par Jean-Pierre Peyraud (investisseur) et Jean-André Charial (propriétaire du Relais & Château L’Oustau de Baumanière).

Avec l’agriculture biologique pour prérequis, la biodynamie cherche à réhabiliter et à redynamiser l’échange entre la plante et son environnement. L’objectif de Château Romanin est d’obtenir des baies de raisin de meilleure qualité pour des vins exceptionnels. Intensifier la vie organique et son milieu permet de générer une production qui fait honneur aux terroirs.

Dans cette démarche, bannis sont les désherbants chimiques ! Evidence. Pour soigner, nourrir et préserver les plants, les hommes s’attellent aux préparations-pulvérisations à base de plantes et de minéraux, bouillis bordelaise, soufre, décoction de prêle, ou encore valériane, eau nourricière.

En fonction de son emplacement, de la typicité de son sol (poreux, argilo-calcaire et caillouteux), chaque vigne du domaine affirme sa particularité et ses atouts, en interaction avec les éléments et les astres, travaillée avec minutie et attention constante par les Hommes de Château Romanin. Avant d’aimer le vin, il faut aimer le raisin, apprendre à l’observer et à le goûter pour être capable d’identifier le bon degré de maturité des parcelles et le meilleur moment pour vendanger. Au fil des saisons, ainsi respectées dans leur évolution, dans le respect de cahiers des charges rigoureux, les meilleures grappes donneront des vins amples, aériens, riches d’assemblages, tout en fraîcheur et équilibre.

Certifications Demeter® et Biodyvin®

Les vins de Château Romanin respectent les cahiers des charges rigoureux afin d’être certifiés Demeter pour les vins rouges et Biodyvin pour les trois couleurs. Ces organismes accrédités apportent la garantie que le domaine, remplit toutes les conditions de l’agriculture en biodynamie.

Château Romanin

Viticulture et œnologie exigeantes, savoir-faire au service de l’excellence

L’ère Charmolüe associe savoir-faire traditionnel et équipements performants au service d’une viticulture et oenologie exigeantes. Pour obtenir une vinification précise et innovante, dans une volonté de développement durable, Anne-Marie et Jean-Louis Charmolüe ont investi dans deux cuviers et une réception de vendanges. Celle-ci accueille deux pressoirs pneumatiques pour plus d’anticipation et de réactivité dans le travail pour accéder à la date parfaite de maturité. Une chambre froide a également été construite pour une restitution optimale de la qualité des raisins blancs et rosés dans le but de conserver au maximum les précurseurs d’arômes.

En 2015, les cuves des vins blancs et rosés ont été changées ; en 2016 ce fut au tour de celles accueillant les rouges.

Grâce à ces nouveaux équipements, l’équipe technique du vignoble et de la cave, obtient autonomie, efficacité et adaptabilité face aux microclimats du domaine.

Compétences et savoirs humains, vendanges manuelles, s’associent aux techniques nouvelles pour prévenir les chocs thermiques et conserver l’intégrité des raisins et des jus. Les installations performantes contribuent à soutenir les transformations et évolutions des vins pour permettre à chaque millésime de s’exprimer pleinement, d’obtenir davantage de précision dans le plus grand respect du raisin. Performance au nom de l’excellence.

Château Romanin

Travail des Hommes,
Soin de la vigne

Que seraient les vins sans le travail de la vigne par les hommes ?
Partout dans le monde, un vignoble fait écho à une histoire, un lieu, un environnement naturel et bien sûr à l’investissement des hommes. Telle une rencontre originelle, la Terre se mêle au savoir-faire des hommes qui savent l’écouter ; des hommes capables de travailler la vigne en fonction de sa minéralité, de son exposition et de ses caractéristiques propres. Dès lors, ils engagent les étapes nécessaires à sa transformation, avant la mise en bouteille ultérieure du précieux breuvage.

Au sein de Château Romanin, en plus de son maître de chai – chef de culture, Théo Buravand, six vignerons sont investis dans le suivi des vignes, accompagnés de nombreuses petites mains pour de grandes tâches. Car pour donner du raisin, la vigne doit passer par divers stades de développement, essentiels à la qualité de la future récolte. Ainsi, relevage, taille, ébourgeonnage, vendange en vert et travail du sol se montrent minutieux et constants.

– La taille
Elle mérite une attention toute particulière. Afin de déterminer le développement de la plante, des coupes judicieuses doivent être appliquées, fruit d’une véritable réflexion associée à chaque plant, pour que la plante se nourrisse correctement et que sa sève ne soit pas déviée.

– Les soins
Ils s’organisent en fonction des saisons et de la biodynamie. De mars à novembre, les hommes sont aux côtés de la vigne qu’ils observent en continu. Après la taille d’hiver, ils la soignent. A la lune descendante, c’est le temps de la pulvérisation de bouse de cornes, de la protection des ceps, recouverts de terre avant l’hiver (chaussage), avant le travail de la vigne nécessaire à la préparation du futur cycle végétatif prélude à la future récolte : taille à la main, bois coupés, broyés et répartis sur le sol.

– Au printemps, l’ébourgeonnage permet d’équilibrer les charges de la plante ; le relevage domestique la vigne qui pousse telle une liane, en faisant glisser ses rameaux entre le double fil de fer ; l’effeuillage garantit la qualité sanitaire des futures grappes.

– En été, la vendange en vert si nécessaire, réduit le nombre de grappes sur chaque cep et favorise une meilleure maturation et concentration des raisins ; le tout associé à la maîtrise de la photosynthèse, engage autant de compétences et de gestes renouvelés.

– Fin août, début septembre, les vendanges se font à la main dans des caissettes pour protéger les grappes de chaque cépage travaillé selon sa destination. Chaque jour, l’équipe technique goûte le raisin de chaque parcelle et réalise des analyses afin de déterminer la date optimale de récolte.

Dans les vignes, des hommes et des femmes ; à la tête du domaine, une femme avec la mémoire d’un homme, visionnaire, passionné, connaisseur et toujours en quête de l’excellence.